How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Netflix will show you recommendations based on your viewing history. But what if you‘ve watched some movies that you didn’t like?! Then Netflix will recommend you more movies that you probably don’t like…

Luckily there’s a simple way to remove unwanted viewing activity from your Netflix account. This could also be helpful if you don’t want anyone to find out you recently watched “another gay movie” for instance ;) 

Here’s how you can remove your Netflix viewing history

You have to use a web browser to manage your Netflix profile. Within the Netflix mobile app you can also tap on the link to open your account details, but it will open your account in a browser window.

  • Go to and click on your profile name to access the dropdown menu. Click “Your Account” to view your account settings.
  • Now scroll down to the “My Profile” section and click on “Viewing activity”.
  • Here, you’ll see a complete list of all your viewing activity. When you want to remove something from the list, simply click the “X” to the right of each item. That’s it!

Beware that it can take up to 24 hours for a selection to be removed from all your devices! It usually doesn’t take that long and you’ll most likely see it disappear from your viewing activity on almost immediately.