Is your Netflix account acting strange? Here's how to find out if your account was hacked!

Netflix lets multiple people use an account at the same time, and this feature is great when it allows you to share a friend’s account without bothering them.

But one problem with this policy is that it has inadvertently created a black market for “access” to stolen Netflix accounts. Your account access might be sold on the black market without you even knowing it! Depending on your subscription, you can watch Netflix on as many as four screens at the same time, so you and the person stealing your Netflix could be watching simultaneously and you would never know.

A recent report by McAfee Labs revealed you can buy access to Netflix accounts in “Dark Web” marketplaces, which can only be accessed using a special internet browser called TOR that hides your IP address. Hackers in these marketplaces are selling lifetime access to Netflix accounts for as little as $0.50. While some of these accounts are likely ones purchased with stolen credit card information, others used hacked login information, Raj Samani, the CTO of Intel Security, told Tech Insider. And sometimes hackers don't even sell the stolen accounts, but rather, just dump the login credentials on the internet for people to use. Luckily credit card information is stored securely in Netflix, so users wouldn't be able to read it even if they did access your account.

How to find out if your Netflix account was hecked?

A method to find out is to look at your viewing history. If you see any strange titles or movies that you or your friends 'watched' recently, then it could be an indication that your account was hecked.

There's an easy measure you can take if you think there might even be the possibility you've been hacked. Netflix has a feature that allows you to force all users who are logged into your account to log out. This means everyone with the username and passwords saved gets temporarily booted. Once you've done that, just change your password to keep them out permanently. This also works if you get too many "friends of friends" clogging up your account.